Margaret Atwood

MARGARET ATWOOD is the author of more than forty books of fiction, poetry, and critical essays. Her novels include The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize; and Alias Grace, winner of the Giller Prize; Oryx and Crake, nominated for the Giller and Booker prize; and MaddAddam, which is currently being adapted for HBO.  Her most recent books include Hag-Seed (2016), a novel revisitation of Shakespeare’s play The Tempest, for the Hogarth Shakespeare Project, and a graphic novel with co-creator Johnnie Christmas Angel Catbird.


Graeme Gibson

GRAEME GIBSON is a novelist and nonfiction author, and a member of the Order of Canada. His most recent books are The Bedside Book of Birds (2005) and The Bedside Book of Beasts (2009). A former council member of the World Wildlife Fund and chairman of Pelee Island Bird Observatory, he was awarded, along with Jacob Verhoef and Margaret Atwood, the 2015 Gold Medal of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society.


Steven Heighton

STEVEN HEIGHTON is the author of twelve books, including the novels The Shadow Boxer, Every Lost Country, and Afterlands, which was a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice. He has received the Gerald Lampert Award, K.M. Hunter Award, P.K. Page Founders' Award, Petra Kenney Prize, and been nominated for the Governor General’s Award, the Trillium Award, and the Journey Prize. He was a fellow at the Cambridge Literary Seminars, and the writer-in-residence at Concordia University, Massey College, the University of Ottawa, and McGill University. He currently lives with his family in Kingston, Ontario. 


Timothy Liu

The son of Chinese immigrants, TIMOTHY LIU was born in San Jose, California. Liu’s poetry collections include Bending the Mind Around the Dream’s Blown Fuse (2009), For Dust Thou Art (2005), Of Thee I Sing (2004), and Poetry Society of America’s Norma Farber First Book Award winner Vox Angelica (1992). Liu collaborated with artist Greg Drasler on Polytheogamy (2009). He is the editor of Word of Mouth: An Anthology of Gay American Poetry (2000). Liu currently lives in New York, where he is an associate professor at William Paterson University.

Hoa Nguyen

Born in the Mekong Delta and raised in the Washington DC area, HOA NGUYEN currently makes her home in Toronto. Her poetry collections include As Long As Trees Last, Red Juice, Poems 1998-2008, and Violet Energy Ingots from Wave Books. She teaches poetics at Ryerson University, for Miami University’s low residency MFA program, for the Milton Avery School for Fine Arts at Bard College, and in a long-running, private workshop.

Paul Vasey

PAUL VASEY is the author of fifteen books – novels, short fiction and non-fiction, most recently The River: A Memoir of Life in the Border Cities (Biblioasis) and A Troublesome Boy (Groundwood Books/House of Anansi). Paul spent 25 years writing for newspapers before joining the CBC, where he hosted morning shows in Windsor Ontario and Victoria BC. Paul is a graduate of The University of Windsor and spent a year at Massey College on a Southam Fellowship for Journalists.
Chuck Wendig

CHUCK WENDIG is an American novelist, comic book writer, screenwriter, and blogger. He is best known for his popular online blog Terribleminds, and for his novel Aftermath, which debuted at #4 on The New York Times best seller list. As of early 2016, Wendig writes Hyperion for Marvel and The Shield for Dark Circle Comics. He was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2013.


Alissa York

ALISSA YORK is the author of the short fiction collection, Any Given Power, which won the Journey Prize and the Bronwen Wallace Award. Her internationally acclaimed novels include Mercy (2003), Fauna (2010), and Effigy (2007), which was short-listed for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her most recent book is The Naturalist (Random House 2016). York has lived all over Canada and now makes her home in Toronto with her husband, artist Clive Holden.